11-25-2012 09:18 PM

North Dakota State was named the No. 1 seed for the Division I Football Championship Subdivision playoffs. It was a nice reward, and it guarantees the Bison home-field advantage throughout the playoffs as long as they win.

That’s the good news.

History tells us it could also be bad news. Since 1995, only two No. 1 seeds have held court and won a national title – Montana in 2001 and Appalachian State in 2006. Six others, including Sam Houston State last year, reached the title game but lost.

Full story »