03-28-2013 12:52 PM

There was a time in the Southern Conference when the “Big Three” was a simple reference to its three football superpowers.
Furman, Appalachian State and Georgia Southern have combined for 34 conference championships in football, while the SoCon’s other six football members have combined for 10.
Now, Furman is coming off its second losing season in three years and its “Big Three” rivals are leaving the conference.
Full story »