07-08-2013 03:43 PM
The Sports Network on Monday announced its watch list for the 27th annual Walter Payton Award.
Among the 20 initial nominees are 11 finalists from last year, and another from 2011. Included among this year's nominees are one three-time finalist, Montana State quarterback DeNarius McGhee, and three two-time finalists: Indiana State running back Shakir Bell, Sam Houston State running back Timothy Flanders and Townson running back Terrance West. Two schools -- Appalachian State and Eastern Illinois, each placed two players on the watch list.
The Walter Payton Award has been given to the most outstanding college football player on the FCS level since 1987.
Zach Bauman RB Northern Arizona SR Jeff Mathews QB Cornell SR
Shakir Bell RB Indiana State SR Gavin McCarney QB Colgate SR
Timothy Flanders RB Sam Houston State SR DeNarius McGhee QB Montana State SR
Jimmy Garoppolo QB Eastern Illinois SR Jerick McKinnon QB Georgia Southern SR
Jordan Harris WR Bryant SR Andrew Pierce RB Delaware SR
Jamal Londry-Jackson QB Appalachian State SR Walter Powell WR Murray State SR
Brock Jensen QB North Dakota State SR Sean Price WR Appalachian State SO
David Johnson RB Northen Iowa JR Wynrick Smothers QB Central Arkansas SR
Carlton Koonce RB Fordham SR Terrance West RB Townson JR
Erik Lora WR Eastern Illinois SR Zach Zenner RB South Dakota State JR
Complete list of Walter Payton Award winners